Skip to content

Horn Studies

Dr. Katie Johnson-Webb

Katie Johnson-Webb is the Associate Professor of Horn at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. She excels as a flexible, thoughtful, and active performer of solo repertoire, chamber music, and orchestral literature. In past years, Katie was selected to perform with the Aspen Summer Music Festival in Aspen, Colorado, the Kent/Blossom Music Festival in Kent, Ohio, and the National Repertory Orchestra in Breckenridge, Colorado. She frequently joins the horn section of the Knoxville Symphony.

As a soloist, she has been heard in recitals at the 2018 International Horn Symposium at Ball State University, the 2016 International Horn Symposium at Ithaca College, and the 2015 International Horn Symposium at the Colburn School. Additionally, she has given recitals and masterclasses at universities across the United States and Canada. Johnson-Webb can been heard with pianist Kirstin Ihde on her CD, La Loba, which was released on the Summit Brass label.

As an active chamber musician, Johnson-Webb is a member of the Tennessee Brass Quintet and a founding member of the Cobalt Horn Quartet, winners of the 2018 International Horn Society Horn Quartet Competition – Professional Division.

She has presented research on incorporating ear training in private teaching at the 2015 Midwest Band and Orchestra Clinic in Chicago, IL. She has presented similar lectures at the 2017 and 2016 Southeast Horn Workshops and the 2015 Northeast Horn Workshop.

Johnson-Webb completed her undergraduate studies in music and political science at Valparaiso University in Valparaiso, Indiana. She completed the Doctor of Musical Arts and Master of Music degrees at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. While completing the Master of Music degree at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, she was awarded a Bolz Fellowship. In 2018, she was awarded a grant from the American Scandinavian Foundation to collaborate with Norwegian hornist and pedagogue, Frøydis Ree Wekre in Oslo, Norway.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.