Skip to content

Musicology Distinguished Lecture Series

Each year the Musicology Area of UT’s School of Music invites outstanding scholars and performers from around the country and abroad to participate in the Distinguished Lecture Series. Many of these lectures are cosponsored with other areas within the School of Music or other departments of the university. Participants are chosen to reflect the interests of our faculty and students, to foster interdisciplinary relationships within the university, and to enhance our campus offerings with diverse and innovative approaches to musical practice, philosophy and scholarship. Our guests present lectures and interactive workshops that demonstrate the best of their current music research. Past participants of the DLS include Dale Cockrell, Paul Berliner, Zim Ngqawana, Susan McClary, and Paul Théberge.

Distinguished Lecture Series 2017-2018

On Ways of Knowing the Past:  The Case of the Genealogical Imagination in North Indian Music

Max Katz, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Music, College of William and Mary

Among hereditary musicians of North India, musical training begins early in life and encompasses many years of sina-ba-sina or “heart-to-heart” instruction; a musical lineage thus constitutes a chain of hearts linked through a continuous stream of musical technique and repertoire, but also through the affective structure of collective memory passed from father to son. Inspired by anthropologist Andrew Shryock’s concept of the “genealogical imagination” (1997), this paper explores conflicting visions of the musical past, and searches for new ways to negotiate between history and memory that respect the embodied connections to the past lived by hereditary musicians in India today.

Czech Bluegrass: Fieldwork, Media, and Americanness In Between

Lee Bidgood, Associate Professor, East Tennessee State University

No other place in the world has a romance with American bluegrass like the Czech Republic. Banjo Romantika introduces the musicians who play this unique bluegrass hybrid. Czechs first heard bluegrass during World War II when the Armed Forces Network broadcast American music for soldiers. The music represented freedom to dissatisfied Czechs living in a communist state. Czechs’ love for the music was solidified when Pete Seeger visited and performed in 1964. Inspired by classic American bluegrass sounds, an assortment of musicians from across the formerly communist Czech Republic have melded the past, the political and the present into a lively musical tradition entirely its own.

  • Tuesday 7 pm, November 14, 2017, Natalie L. Haslam Music Center, Room 68, Film screening of Banjo Romantika: American Bluegrass Music and the Czech Imagination
  • Wednesday 4 pm, November 15, 2017, Natalie L. Haslam Music Center, Room 25, Lecture presentation Czech Bluegrass: Fieldwork, Media, and Americanness In Between


A lecture-demonstration with renown Tuvan throat singing ensemble ALASH.

Presentation by Dr. Joan Titus, Title TBD

Dr. Joan Titus, Assoc. Professor of Music, University of North Carolina- Greensboro

Presentation by Dr. Joan Titus, Assoc. Professor of Music, University of North Carolina- Greensboro

Select the links below to view previous years:

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.